Community Futures Dakota Ojibway 310-200 Alpine Way, Headingley, MB - Phone: (204) 988-5372

DOCFDC Board of Directors

Our current Board of Directors are as follows:

Anthony Tacan, Chairperson - Sioux Valley Dakota Nation                          
Melville Wabash, Vice Chairperson - Waywayseecappo First Nation    
Jason Starr, Treasurer - Sandy Bay First Nation      
Allen Myran, Secretary - Long Plain First Nation   
Tania Scott, Director - Swan Lake First Nation  
Christopher Benn, Director - Birdtail Sioux First Nation  
Gerald Sandy, Director - Canupawakpa Dakota Nation  
Vacant -  Dakota Plains Wahpeton First Nation 

Vacant - Roseau River Anishinabe First Nation

Board Composition

The Board of Directors is the decision making authority of the Corporation as per the Articles of Incorporation, By-laws and funding agreement with Western Economic Diversification Canada. The Board is responsible for both the governance and the management of the Corporation.  The Board defines and approves a Code of Conduct for the Directors and a separate Code of Conduct for the general Manager.  The Board of Directors is comprised of one representative from each of the nine member communities. The 7-member Board includes 1 female and 6 male Board members.

Anthony Tacan - Chairperson -  Board Member since 2018. Past Board member, knowledgeable in economic development and also a community councillor.     

Melville Wabash - Vice Chairperson- Board Member since 2015. Past Chief, current community councillor.  

 Jason Starr - Treasurer - Board Member since 2014. Knowledgeable in the area of employment and training, education, recreation, land management and first nations treaty rights. Also knowledgeable in the area of traditional and cultural ways of hunting, fishing and trapping and is also a community councillor.         

Dennis Myran - SecretaryBio coming soon   

Tania Scott - Director -  Board Member since 2022. Knowledgeable in Social Development. Resourceful & outspoken. Strong advocate for community members, as well for all First Nation's people. Stands for equality fairness. Enjoys working with children & families.

Gerald Sandy - Director - Board Member since January 2020.  Experience in leading the community as Community Councillor by holding various portfolios through out the years - Education, Housing, Health, Employment and Training.

Christopher Benn - Director -  Board Member since 2017. Knowledgeable in the area of economic development and is also a community councillor.

Board Recruitment

The Board of Directors are community appointed representatives by their respective Chief and Council, whose role is to plan and guide economic development activity within their communities.  Local elections are held every two years.  After each election a letter is forwarded to the Chief and Council requesting appointment of a board member and alternate.  The appointment is confirmed by Band Council Resolution with a request for consideration of the appointees' geographic area, age, gender, skill set and perspective.  The majority of the appointees are councillors who hold the Economic Development Portfolio.

Board Orientation

DOCFDC seeks to engage new Directors such that they can contribute early in their tenure to the governing of the organization in a confident and meaningful way.  To this end, all Directors will participate in an orientation process.  Board members will receive a comprehensive orientation regarding board responsibilities, programs and services, and administrative procedures within the first three months of becoming a new Director.

The General Manager will provide an organizational history and all governing documents, including the corporate By-laws, Board manual, organizational structure, the strategic plan, annual reports, minutes of recent meetings, and other relevant organizational information and pertinent policies and procedures.  A tour of the office and introduction to staff will also take place.  New Directors will be required to sign a Confidentiality and Non-Disclosure Agreement and a Board Member Code of Conduct . 

Board Transparency and Accountability

The Board will be transparent with and accountable to its stakeholders and partners for its actions by implementation and maintaining communications protocol as follows:

  • Quarterly in-person Board Meetings
  • The organizations operational results are presented to the DOTC Council of Chiefs at an Annual Meeting which is open to community members
  • Audited Financial Statements are distributed to each community via Board of Directors and DOTC Council of Chiefs at our Annual General Meeting
  • Quarterly Program Manager Meetings with the DOTC Administration and CEO and Director of Operations
  • Web-site includes a current listing of the Board of Directors
  • Quarterly client loan statement balances are sent out
  • Quarterly program highlights are reported in the Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council Newsletter

Annual General Meeting

The 2022 Annual General Meeting (AGM) will held on Wednesday July 27, 2022 On Swan Lake First Nation in Headingly, Manitoba. 

All DOTC community members are invited to attend the AGM.