Community Futures Southeast 200 - 208 Edmonton Street, Winnipeg, MB - Phone: (204) 943-1656

SCFDC Board of Directors / SCFDC Loan Committee

SCFDC Board of Directors:

Roland Whiteway – Berens River First Nation

Leah Fontaine – Black River First Nation (Secretary & Treasurer)
Secretarial responsibilities include keeping records of board actions, as well as ensuring that corporate records are maintained. Treasurer duties include chairing the finance committee, assisting in the preparation of the budget, helping develop fund raising plans, and making regular reports to the Board.

Lorraine Cook – Bloodvein First Nation (Vice-Chair)
Acting as a support person for the Chair, the Vice-chair's responsibilities often go unnoticed. Generally chairs one or more sub-committees as well as any regular board meetings the Chair is unable to attend.

Allen Hocaluk – Brokenhead Ojibway Nation

Herman Green – Buffalo Point First Nation

Furlon Barker – Hollow Water First Nation (Chair)
The role of the Chairperson, in essence, is to act as the chief volunteer for the organization. With the Board of Directors and the staff, the Chair works to achieve Southeast Economic Development Division’s Mission. The Chair often acts as a mediator of board actions with respect to organizational priorities and governance concerns. The position of Chairperson is not one of a “figurehead”. He is the focus of Southeast Economic Development Division’s Mission activities and plays a leadership role in the organization.

Clinton Keeper – Little Grand Rapids First Nation

Moses Owens – Pauingassi First Nation

Darcy Bruce – Poplar River First Nation

Board Members provide governance for the organization, represent it in the community, and ultimately, accept legal responsibility for it. Board Members act on behalf and represent the views of Southeast Economic Development Division’s constituents – the citizens of the First Nations. As a result, they have the principal responsibility for the carrying out of the organization's mission and strategic objectives. Board Members accomplish their functions through attendance at regular meetings plus participation on committees and sub-committees. Board Members are charged with four phases of organizational development: planning, organization, operations, and audit / evaluation.

Southeast CFDC Loan Portfolio Committee:

Lorraine Cook – Bloodvein First Nation

Allen Hocaluk – Brokenhead Ojibway Nation

Herman Green – Buffalo Point First Nation

Philip Cavey – Meyers Norris Penny

The Southeast CFDC Loan Portfolio Committee decisions regarding the management of the loan fund and approval of loans is FINAL.  A report will go to the Board of Directors.

Profile of SCFDC Board / Loan Committee Composition:

The Board of Directors comprised of a representative from each of our member First Nations (9 Board Members). They are appointed by their communities for a period of 2 years, as per their local portfolio systems. In general they posses experience and knowlegde in finance, business acument and community development. The Loan Committee consists of 5 reprsentatives: two members are reprsentatives from the SCFDC Board of Directors, two are community members, and the other is a Certified General Accountant. They are appointed by the Board of Directors for a period of 2 years.

The Board of Directors is the overall planning body of the Corporation and the Loan Committee has complete authority over the administration and operation of the entire loan program.

SCFDC Board Recruitment / Nomination Process:

SCFDC Board members are appointed by the First Nation they represent. Our Loan Committee is more formalized and are selected based upon specific skill sets and are selected by our Board of Directors.